HomeVisaTourist Attractions Learning Thai Thai Food Recipes Thai History Muay Thai

Satun Province:

     Satun is actually a corruption of the Malay word for Mangosteen tree. The original Malay word is Setul. The Satun province is located on the Malay Peninsula and is separated from Songkhla Province by the Nakhon Si Thammarat mountain range. The province has two extremely popular marine national parks -- Ko Tarutao and Ko Phetra. Another national park is close to the Malaysian border and it is a freshwater swamp. This national park is known as Thale Ban National Park.

     Satun province is divided into 7 districts or Amphoe which are further subdivided into 36 districts or Tambaon and 277 villages or Muban. Satun town is the only town in the province while it does have 5 townships. Satun also has some 60 offshore islands which form the province.  More...


Satun Demographic Data :

Capital: Satun
Area: 2,479.0 km²
Ranked 63rd
Inhabitants: 247,875 (2000)
Ranked 69th
Pop. density: 100 inh./km²
Ranked 45th
ISO 3166-2: TH-91
Governor: Khwanchai Wongnitikon
(since November 2006)



Satun Tourist Attractions:

  • Kuden Mansion ( Satun National Museum )
  • Satun Central Mosque
  • Chanathip Chaloem Temple
  • Cape of Laem Tanyong Po
  • Ko Toarutao Island
  • Ao Phante Melaka Bay
  • Ao Chak Bay
  • Chorakhe Cave
  • Pha To Bu Viewpoint
  • Ko Khai Island
  • Muko Adang - Rawi Island
  • Ko Adang Island
  • Hin Ngam Island
  • Cave of Tham Lot Puyu
  • Thale Ban National Park
  • Ya Roi Waterfall
  • Ton Plio Waterfall
  • Muko Phetra National Park
  • Thai - Malaysia Border Zone
  • Wang Sai Thong Waterfall
  • Than Plio Waterfall


Home | Play Flash Games | Thai News | Muay Thai | Thai Food Recipes | Thai History | Thai Culture | Horoscopes |
Online Radio | Flight Booking | Hotel Booking | Moving To Thailand | Investment & Real Estate|Contact

2011 Thailandbuddy.com All Rights Reserved
( Satun Map, Maps of Satun, Thailand Map )