Thai Bank Account for Foreigners: KBank Refuses DTV
KBank does not open accounts for holders of a tourist visa, Visa on Arrival, Free Visa or the DTV. It asks for a passport and a non-immigrant visa of any type. SCB asks for a passport and work permit. SCB savings and Bangkok Bank savings open with THB 500; KBank sets no minimum.
On this page
Four banks publish what they ask of a foreigner: KBank, Krungsri, SCB and Bangkok Bank. Their rules differ, and the visa in your passport settles the first question.
Which visas the banks refuse
KBank does not open accounts for holders of a tourist visa or other visas intended to travel in Thailand. Its own examples are Visa on Arrival, Free Visa and the Destination Thailand Visa (DTV).
Krungsri’s foreign-currency deposit account cannot be opened by a foreign customer on a tourist visa. That rule belongs to the foreign-currency account, not to every Krungsri account.
If you hold one of these visas, a non-immigrant visa of any type is what KBank asks for. Related visa guides: DTV, long-term resident visa and retirement visa.
Documents each bank asks a foreigner for
SCB asks for a passport and work permit as the ID. KBank asks for more than one document. For foreigners, Bangkok Bank points to its branches for the document list.
| Bank | Documents for a foreigner | Visa position |
|---|---|---|
| KBank savings | Passport and a non-immigrant visa of any type. Documents matching the purpose of entry, such as a work permit or a university or school certificate. Home-country ID such as a national ID card, driver’s licence or household registration. | No tourist visa, Visa on Arrival, Free Visa or DTV |
| Krungsri foreign-currency account | Passport-type ID, documents matching the purpose of entry such as a work permit or non-immigrant visa, and ID issued by the Thai government or the customer’s home government | No tourist visa |
| SCB savings and current | Passport and work permit as the ID | Not stated |
| Bangkok Bank savings | No foreigner list published | Not stated |

KBank may ask for additional documents when you open the account. A student can show a university or school certificate as the document matching the purpose of entry.
Minimum deposit and debit card fees
KBank sets no minimum deposit for a savings account. Bangkok Bank savings and SCB savings each open with THB 500. An SCB current account for an individual needs THB 10,000. A Bangkok Bank foreign-currency account for non-residents opens with USD 1,000 or the equivalent.
| Bank | Minimum to open | Debit card |
|---|---|---|
| KBank savings | None | K BASIC: no fee. K MORE: THB 299 for the first card, THB 0 annual fee in the first year, THB 299 from the next year |
| SCB savings | THB 500 | Let’s SCB: THB 100 entry fee, THB 200 a year |
| SCB current (individual) | THB 10,000 | Not stated |
| Bangkok Bank savings | THB 500 | Not stated |
| Bangkok Bank foreign-currency account for non-residents | USD 1,000 or equivalent | Not stated |


Fees change with each schedule, so read the current table at the counter. ATM charges on foreign cards are a separate cost: see the ATM fee guide.
Bangkok Bank: branches, head office and non-resident accounts
You can open an account at any Bangkok Bank branch in Thailand. For a Non-Resident Baht Account, visit the Head Office, 333 Silom Road, Bangkok. You cannot open an account from abroad: you must visit a branch in Thailand in person.

A local bank lets a foreigner living in Thailand do day-to-day banking in baht without the extra charges that may apply when using an overseas account and cards.
Bangkok Bank’s foreign-currency account for non-residents
Bangkok Bank opens an FCD account for non-residents as a savings, fixed deposit or current account, with USD 1,000 or the equivalent as the minimum initial deposit. It takes deposits in 14 major currencies. You open it at any branch that provides FCD services, with the required documents.

| Item | Bangkok Bank FCD account for non-residents |
|---|---|
| Minimum initial deposit | USD 1,000 or the equivalent |
| Monthly average balance | USD 250 for savings and current accounts; USD 10 a month is charged below USD 250 |
| Baht deposits | By showing an income statement from the employer |
| Withdrawal into baht | Buying TT Rate, no fee; more than 2 million baht needs a stated purpose |
| Foreign banknotes | 1% for USD and 2% for other currencies, minimum THB 500 |
| ATM card | Not available for this account |
| Online | Bualuang iBanking moves funds to your baht account, not overseas |
PromptPay and money sent from abroad
PromptPay has run since 2016 and lets users transfer money using a citizen ID, a mobile phone number or a bank account number through digital channels with lower fees. To join, link an existing bank account to your citizen ID or phone number through mobile banking, internet banking, an ATM or a branch.

Transfers from abroad meet a Bank of Thailand line at USD 200,000. Below USD 200,000 or the equivalent, a resident customer states the purpose of the foreign-currency transfer and the bank need not ask for documents. At USD 200,000 or more, the bank asks for documents showing the source of the customer’s foreign currency.
Step by step
- Check your visa against the bankKBank does not open accounts for tourist-type visas, including Visa on Arrival, Free Visa and the DTV. Krungsri's foreign-currency account is closed to tourist-visa holders.
- Collect the documentsA passport, a non-immigrant visa, a document matching your purpose of entry and ID from your home country are the KBank list. SCB asks for a passport and work permit.
- Go in personBangkok Bank requires a visit to a branch in Thailand. A Non-Resident Baht Account is opened at the Head Office, 333 Silom Road, Bangkok.
- Expect extra requestsKBank may ask for additional documents when you open the account.
- Register PromptPayLink your account to your citizen ID or phone number in mobile banking, internet banking, at an ATM or at a branch.
Not confirmed: None of the four banks names a residence certificate or lease letter, so ask the branch before you go. Krungsri's foreigner rules are for its foreign-currency account only. Branch staff decide in practice.
Common questions
Can a tourist open a bank account in Thailand?
KBank does not open accounts for holders of a tourist visa or other travel-type visas, including Visa on Arrival and Free Visa. Krungsri's foreign-currency deposit account cannot be opened by a foreign customer on a tourist visa.
Can I open a Thai bank account on a DTV?
KBank does not open accounts for Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) holders. For foreigners, Bangkok Bank points to its branches for the document list.
What documents does a foreigner need?
KBank asks for a passport and a non-immigrant visa of any type. It also asks for documents matching the purpose of entry, such as a work permit or a university or school certificate. SCB asks for a passport and work permit as the ID.
How much is the minimum deposit?
KBank requires no minimum deposit for a savings account. Bangkok Bank savings opens with THB 500, as does SCB savings. An SCB current account for an individual requires THB 10,000.
Can I open a Thai bank account from abroad?
No. Bangkok Bank requires you to visit a branch in Thailand in person to open an account.
Where do I open a Non-Resident Baht Account?
At Bangkok Bank's Head Office, 333 Silom Road, Bangkok. Other Bangkok Bank accounts open at any branch in Thailand.
What does a Thai debit card cost?
The KBank K BASIC debit card carries no fee. The K MORE card costs THB 299 for the first card, with THB 0 annual fee in the first year. The Let's SCB card costs THB 100 to enter and THB 200 a year.
How much must stay in a Bangkok Bank FCD account?
A monthly average of USD 250 for a savings or current account. The bank charges USD 10 a month when the balance drops under USD 250.
How do I register for PromptPay?
Link an existing bank account to your citizen ID or phone number through mobile banking, internet banking, an ATM or a branch.
Will the bank ask about money sent from abroad?
Below USD 200,000 a resident customer states the purpose of the transfer and the bank need not ask for documents. At USD 200,000 or more the bank asks for documents showing the source of the money.
Read next
General information checked against the sources listed above, not financial or tax advice for your situation. Rules and fees change; confirm with your bank, the Revenue Department or a licensed adviser before you act. See how guides are checked.
Spotted an error? Report it.